Our Online Driving Courses

Florida 4 Hour Basic Driver Improvement Online Course

Florida 4 Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course:
Reasons for Attending Basic Driver Improvement...

You must complete a Basic Driver Improvement Course (Traffic Collision Avoidance Course) if you want to retain your driver license in the following circumstance:

Orange Bullet you were a driver in a crash and are found at fault and
Orange Bullet someone was transported to the hospital or
Orange Bullet you had two crashes in a two-year period, which resulted in property damage greater than $50.

If you receive a ticket for a non-criminal moving violation, you may elect to attend a basic driver improvement course in lieu of points on your driving record.

In some cases, you may choose to attend a basic driver improvement course to receive insurance discounts. This discount is solely at the discretion of your insurance company.

Electing to Attend Traffic School

If, as a result of a moving violation, you elect to attend and complete a basic driver improvement course, you will receive the following benefits:

Orange Bullet No Insurance Rate Increase - Your insurance rates cannot go up and your policy cannot be cancelled because of this violation, unless this involved a crash where you were at fault.
Orange Bullet No Points Added to you License - Points may not be added to your driver license record, adjudication of guilt is withheld, safe driver status is maintained if applicable, and the fine is reduced up to 18%. You may not make an election under this subsection if you have made this election in the preceding 12 months. A person may make no more than five elections in their lifetime.
Orange Bullet Keep you Safe Driver Status - If your driver license indicated a safe driver status before you received your ticket, then you will be able to retain this status on your license.
Orange Bullet Increased Knowledge and Awareness of Defensive Driving - By taking our basic driver improvement course on the Internet, you will receive the benefit of increased knowledge and awareness of defensive driving strategies that could prevent you from being involved in a traffic crash!

Within 30 days from the date your received the traffic citation and prior to attending class, you must:

Orange Bullet inform the Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation that you want to go to traffic school, and
Orange Bullet pay an election fee to the Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation.

Florida Online Traffic School Courses Made Easy!
Ready to get started? Complete the Florida 4 Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course (4 Hour BDI) in 5 simple steps:

2nd step

Complete the courses at your own speed.

3rd step

Complete all quizzes and pass the final exam.

4th step

Certificate processed and sent to you!

5th step

Present Certificate to your County Clerk of Court.

Florida Drivers License Points and Driving Violations:
If you choose to pay the civil penalty or are adjudicated guilty by a judge, your driver record will be assessed as follows:
  Speeding Violation:
Points:
Orange Bullet Less than 15 mph over the speed limit
3 points
Orange Bullet More than 15 mph over the speed limit
4 points
Orange Bullet Speeding resulting in an crash
6 points

  Moving Violation:
Points:
Orange Bullet Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours and parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality)
3 points
Orange Bullet Moving violation resulting in a crash
4 points
Orange Bullet Failing to stop at a traffic signal (effective October 1, 2005)
4 points
Orange Bullet Passing a stopped school bus
4 points
Orange Bullet Reckless driving
4 points
Orange Bullet Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50
6 points
Orange Bullet Improper lane change
3 points
Orange Bullet Violation of a traffic control sign/device
4 points
Orange Bullet Open container as an operator
3 points
Orange Bullet Child restraint violation
3 points
Orange Bullet Littering
3 points

If you accumulate:

Orange Bullet 12 points in 12 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days;
Orange Bullet 18 points within 18 months results in a 3 month suspension;
Orange Bullet 24 points within 36 months results in a 12 month suspension.
BACK TO TOP